REVIEW: The Choice

201512-the-choice-mti

“Travis Parker has everything a man could want: a good job, loyal friends, even a  waterfront home in small-town North Carolina. In full pursuit of the good life – boating, swimming, and barbecues with his close buddies – he holds the vague conviction that a serious relationship would only cramp his style. That is until Gabby Holland moves in next door. Despite his attempts to be neighborly, the attractive redhead seems to have a grudge against him. Still, Travis can’t stop trying to ingratiate himself with his new neighbor, and his persistent efforts lead them both to the doorstep of a journey that neither cold have foreseen. Spanning the eventful years of young love, marriage, and family, The Choice ultimately confronts us with the most heart-wrenching question of all: How far would you go to keep the hope of love alive?”

*NOTE: Summary lifted from back cover of the book.

What’s up everyone!? It’s been so long since I last went on here, I’m not sure I still know how. Not that I knew what I was doing before. As per usual, I finished reading this months ago but only found time to write a review now. Lol. #sorrynotsorry

Before I begin, you guys should know that I usually shy away from sob stories. And as you know, Nicholas Sparks is notorious for them. As such, I have never before watched/read any of his stories. Yes, not even The Notebook.

Enter The Choice trailer. I thought it would be nice to watch but being me, I obviously had to read the book first. So I picked this one up on one of my many book shopping trips….some time ago….long after the movie premiered. Oops. Still, I had to finish reading this one first before I could read all the other ones I had lined up since I have a firm-ish “first-bought-first-read” policy. So into my bag it went during a family vacation to Boracay. HAHA!

Overall, I could say that it wasn’t that bad. But it wasn’t good either. For me, it’s more like a typical boy-meets-girl kind of story than anything, discounting the fact of course that (SPOILER ALERT!) the leading lady was in a coma the entire time and the book is actually a retelling of their love story through the leading man’s POV. Other than that, there’s nothing more to tell, really. I guess Nicholas Sparks just isn’t my cup of tea after all. :)

BOOKWORM RATING (2/5): bookheartsbookhearts

Leave a Reply

