REVIEW: The Princess Bride

510yzqd6ukl-_sx302_bo1204203200_

“As Florin and Guilder teeter on the verge of war, the reluctant Princess Buttercup is devastated by the loss of her true love, kidnapped by a mercenary and his henchman, rescued by a pirate, forced to marry Prince Humperdinck, and rescued once again by the very crew who absconded her in the first place. In the course of this dazzling adventure, she’ll meet Vizzini – the criminal philosopher who’ll do anything for a bag of gold; Fezzik – the gentle giant; Inigo – the Spaniard whose steel thirsts for revenge; and Count Rugen – the evil mastermind behind it all. Foiling all their plans and jumping into their stories is Westley, Princess Buttercup’s one true love and a very good friend of a very dangerous pirate.”

*NOTE: Summary lifted from back cover of the book.*

Okay, this has been sitting in my drafts folder FOREVER (as most of my posts do). But, I’m on vacation now and I can finally finish writing this review. YAY me! I also have another review lined up after this but that’s for another time (hopefully sometime this month though. *wink*). Right now, here’s my review of The Princess Bride. :)

So, before I begin, let me just say that The Princess Bride is one of my favorite movies, which is mainly the reason why I picked up this book in the first place. Because “the book is always better than the movie” right? WRONG!

The first thing I learned when I opened this book was that it was meant to be a satirical piece, which I normally wouldn’t go for but I had already bought the book so I figured what the he**? The second thing I learned was that it wasn’t the full book. (Not that I plan on also reading the original version, but whatever.) It’s really more like an abridged version, with the author picking out the parts he remembers his grandfather read to him as a little boy, pretty much like the movie. So far so good. WRONG AGAIN! Apparently, the author also found it necessary to add in personal anecdotes and opinions, which were not only totally uncalled but also took away all the fairy tale magic. Like, WHY? Why would someone do something like that? The movie was already perfect! They should just have left it at that. And I can say this because the movie came before the book. (Well, not exactly, it came before this particular monstrosity abridgement.)

Moving on, while I didn’t exactly like the book, the story (actually, the movie) still holds a special place in my heart and I would still buy the book regardless. You know, for sentimental reasons. (And also because I wouldn’t have been able to resist anyway. Lol.)

BOOKWORM RATING (3/5): bookheartsbookheartsbookhearts

Leave a Reply

