REVIEW: Library of Souls

LIBRARY OF SOULS - Ransom Riggs

“The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children. They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all.”

*NOTE: Summary lifted from book jacket.*

First things first, what’s uup you guys? :D

I had meant to put this up when I finished reading it months ago but being the slow writer that I am, I will only be able to do so now. So if the tone doesn’t feel like it fits, it’s because the some parts were written way back when everything was still ~fresh~. HAHA! Well, here goes nothing:

I’ve been waiting to get my hands on this book for ages. HAHA! Well, to be more specific, I’ve been wanting to get my hands on a hard bound copy for ages. #choosy

This book is the final installment of what i like to call the Peculiar Children trilogy, the second of which I’ve also done a review on a couple of years ago.

Pretty much like its predecessors, this book was also action packed and filled to the brim with revelations that will keep you up all night. Personally though, I liked the first two books much better than this one. I just felt that it was a bit…underwhelming for a finale. I don’t know. I mean, the story as a whole was amazing and one of the best series I’ve read in a while but there’s just something about the ending that doesn’t feel quite right to me. Then again, I don’t know how you could possibly write an ending befitting such an epic story.

BOOKWORM RATING (4/5): bookheartsbookheartsbookheartsbookhearts

P.S.: Did you guys hear about the movie adaptation? So psyched! :D
Leave a Reply

