REVIEW: The Year We Became Invincible

THE YEAR WE BECAME INVINCIBLE - Mae Coyiuto

“Dear Future Reader, If you’re reading this book, it’s either: 1. You’re my future partner; 2. I’m famous and my writings have been immortalized; 3. You’ve violated my privacy and these are not meant for you. Let’s hope it’s not the last one. Before this year, I had my life all planned out. This book contains the story of how this year changed my life (well, my life so far). It’s the year I learned how to be invincible. That wasn’t really specific, but I guess you have to read on to see what I’m talking about. Love, Camille”

 *NOTE: Summary lifted from back cover of the book.*

First review of the year! WOOHOO! How appropriate is it that the first review be “The Year We Became Invincible”? HAHA!

Moving on…

I got this book a few months back (along with a few others) and decided to read it during the APEC break since I was feeling a little (okay, a LOT) beat down by med school that time and I just felt that it would the perfect thing to read. I found that I had a lot in common with the main character and that if she can get through it, I could too. But mostly, it was because I was just emo and hormonal at the time due to certain biological processes. MEH. Don’t judge me.

Anywaay, the story is everything you expect of your typical coming-of-age story. This one, however, is told in a series of letters to the main character’s “Future Partner”. And it’s nice. A breath of fresh air, if you will. :)

I also liked how the author portrayed the main character’s thoughts on her “love interest”. I felt that it very closely mirrored how one would naturally think of a potential partner throughout the course of the relationship, like when you first met them and imagine yourselves together or when you start thinking whether or not it could really work between you two as the relationship progresses or even when you finally decide what to do with the relationship. I mean, I don’t know about you guys but it was spot on for me.

Another thing I really liked about this book (and something I really related to) is how realistically it portrayed letting go of “past identities”.  Oftentimes, authors would just have characters do complete 180s and never look back on who they were before. But the thing is, when you’ve been doing something your whole life, it never quite leaves you. Sure, you can say “goodbye” as many times as you’d like but you’ll always find yourself going back to it.

In relation to that, I also really liked how the author handled changes in one’s life plan. Now I have zero experience when it comes to this but I imagine it won’t be as easy as 1-2-3. It would take some time, obviously. And especially a life plan like our main character’s. And it’s nice that the author realized that too. :)

AAAND that’s the end of this review. I hope you guys had a blast welcoming the new year and I hope that, just like our main character, we all have the best-est year ever learning more about ourselves and finding new friends (or reconnecting with old ones) and going on adventures and doing more of what we love. Happy New Year once again! CHEERS! :D

BOOKWORM RATING (4/5): bookheartsbookheartsbookheartsbookhearts

Leave a Reply

