REVIEW: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT -  Jennifer E. Smith

“Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airpot and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row. A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?”

*NOTE: Summary lifted from back cover of the book.*

WOW! This has been sitting in my drafts folder for half a month now. That’s got to be a record or something. HAHA!

Obviously, I’d meant to put this up sooner but I finally decided to read the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead and well, I guess you know what happened next: I got obsessed and devoured read all six books within two weeks while everything else was put to the sidelines. Thank God I’m still on summer break! :D

Ooh..and I’ve also downloaded the Bloodlines series which is kind of like the sequel to Vampire Academy but not really? I haven’t started reading it yet (I’m holding off until I finish this review and another one for The Silkworm) but if this one was as good as Vampire Academy, don’t expect to see me for another two weeks. ;)

But enough chitchat, here are my thoughts on The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight (although honestly, I don’t think there’s much to talk about. MEH.):

I was really looking forward to reading this book. Sad to say, but I was was really disappointed. For one thing, I didn’t really feel like they “fell in love at first sight”. If anything, it felt more like being at the right place at the right time kind of thing. There was also this sense of doom around the relationship. Like you know it isn’t going to last. Still, the book had some good points too. I especially liked Hadley’s character development. And I’ve got to admit, the story had a good premise. It’s just that it didn’t have as good a delivery as I had hoped. Bonus points for setting it in London too. ;)

BOOKWORM RATING (2/5): bookheartsbookhearts

Leave a Reply

