MYHH: Backlog

Hey everyone! It’s been a while since I’ve been able to come on here. During that time, I’ve missed quite a few entries. BUT, I’m on Easter break right now so let’s start off with a quick rundown of all the entries I’ve missed yeah?

March 22, 2015

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe died this day in 1832 and is said to be Germany’s greatest poet and novelist. Huh. I don’t really know who he is but in the spirit of the original entry, here are some of his quotes that caught my attention:

“Everything is hard before it is easy.”

“Know thyself? If I knew myself, I’d run away.”

“Enjoy when you can, and endure when you must.”

“The person born with a talent they are meant to use will find their greatest happiness in using it. ”

“We must always change, renew, rejuvenate ourselves; otherwise, we harden.”

“If God had wanted me otherwise, He would have created me otherwise.”

I’ve limited my list to these ones but there are still so many I haven’t read. Go read them if you’re interested. ;)

 

March 23, 2015

Today’s entry talks about two painters, one Spanish and one French. Their names: Juan Gris and Raoul Dufy. And since I (again) do not know who they are, I’ve instead searched for some of their paintings.

A guitar for Juan Gris…

…and the Eiffel Tower for Raoul Dufy. :D

 

March 26, 2015

Well apparently, today is the day when British summertime begins. HOORAY! Sad that my summer doesn’t begin until May though. Bummer. BUT that’s only a month away! And only two more weeks of regular classes! WOOHOO!

Today was also Mothering Sunday the year this was published. It’s typically celebrated on the fourth Sunday of Lent so this year, I’m guessing that would have been last Sunday. Anyway, we don’t celebrate Mothering Sunday here. We do, however, celebrate Mothers’ Day (as does everyone else in the world) on the second Sunday of May. :)

 

March 27, 2015

Today’s entry talks about Baron Georges Eugene Haussmann, the man credited for the successful redesign of Paris. Yes, the Paris we know today. In celebration of his success, here’s a clip from one of my favorite movies of all time: Anastasia.

 

March 28, 2015

Today was the day Constantinople became Istanbul. Today was also the day Virginia Woolf died. Now I’m pretty sure we discussed Virginia Woolf back in high school, but I can’t seem to remember anything. Granted, that was 4-5 years ago so I think I’m off the hook. :P

 

AAND that’s the last one. HAHA! Not as many as I thought. But there’s still this months features so watch out for that. I’ll be working on them as soon as this comes up. :)

 

Leave a Reply

