MYHH: How-To’s

March 3, 2015

I’ve actually spent soo much time thinking about how to go about this post as today’s entry was just too LONG. It includes, aside from the main entry, this month’s Muse and this month’s Page Turner. So, I have decided to just do separate posts on each of these instead of including them in today’s post. There were also some extra bits mixed in with the main entry but those will be included in here.

Still in the spirit of award shows, the bulk of today’s entry consists of a bunch of different “how-to’s”.: how to do the red carpet, how to walk the red carpet gracefully, how to decode dress codes, how to tie a bow tie, and how to make an acceptance speech.

First up, how to do the red carpet, which is really nothing more than a sort of intro to the next topic: how to walk the red carpet gracefully, as told by Ginger Sophie Dahl. In this, she gives a bunch of (really obvious, common sense) tips, which apparently, are most often forgotten or disregarded that they warrant being included in how-to’s. MEH. The thing is, act accordingly. There is a time and place for everything.

Up next: how to decode dress codes. Very, very important. You do not want to look like a fool when you attend an event under-dressed or over-dressed. For the sake of the length of this post, I will not go into details about the different dress codes. And I’m sure there are tons of guides on the internet. So just do your research as the need arises. ;)

Third: how to tie a bow tie. This I have yet to learn. I’m sure it’s not as complicated as it sounds but there are hardly any occasions to practice tying one so learning this will just have to wait. Well, at least I know how to tie a tie.

Finally: how to make an acceptance speech. Okay, honestly, I panic every time I have to make a speech. I have no problems with reporting but speeches? Count me out. Although, I think I can handle something as simple as this. All I have to say is thank you and toast right? RIGHT!? RIGHT.

Today’s entry also includes a short piece on Ash Wednesday and “Kissing Friday”. Confusing, since my post on Shrove Tuesday just went up. Her spiel was on point though. The whole Kissing Friday thing is new to me though. Observed on the Friday following Ash Wednesday, it gives boys permission to kiss any girl they like without fear of rejection. I don’t know what this has to do with Lent but it isn’t practiced anymore so let’s leave it as a fun little trivia yeah? You could still somehow observe it by giving your lips a but more TLC, as suggested in the book. ;)

Leave a Reply

