MYHH: To Learn a Language

February 3, 2015

Today’s entry was all about learning a language. It starts off listing all the different languages you would want to learn but obviously, since this month seems to be set in Paris, the main focus was how to learn how to speak French.

Well, as much as I would also love to learn French, I don’t really have the time do I? In fact, I’m cramming as much entries as I could over the weekend as we are gearing up for a hell week. Not cool.

But it’s not like this would be the first time I would be attempting to learn a language. After all, I studied in a Chinese school until I graduated from high school so I know bits and pieces of Mandarin and Fukien. Not enough to be fluent but enough to piece together snippets of conversations whenever I attend a family event on my father’s side of the family. I also learned a bit of Spanish in my senior year of college. Again, I only learned bits and pieces. But really, I only had it for two semesters. What do you expect?

Today’s entry also featured Perfume by Patrick Suskind. I’ve read it a few years ago. Although, it isn’t one of my favorite books. Mainly because it’s quite a heavier read than I’d like for leisure reading. But I do agree with the author in that it has quite possibly the most detailed description of sceneries I’ve ever read. I might even read it again sometime.

I’ve also watched the movie version, which, I have to say, is not that bad. A bit boring due to the distinct lack of dialogue but overall, I think it managed to include most of the original story. ;)

There was also a list of other books you could read similar to Perfume. One of which is Les Miserable by Victor Hugo. To be honest, I haven’t read the book, nor do I plan to. It’s far too depressing for my taste anyway. I have only watched the movie. ONCE. In English class. And I promised never to watch it again. It was nice and engaging, but again, too depressing to watch over and over again.

Leave a Reply

