MYHH: The Light and Truth of the World

February 2, 2015

For Catholics, today marks the day when the church’s yearly supply of candles are blessed. Catholics also light a candle in commemoration of the fact that Jesus Christ is the Light and Truth of the World.

Personally, I don’t think I’ve ever celebrated this particular event in the Church calendar. I mean, I vaguely remember being asked to bring a candle to school once and then having it blessed so if this is what that was then I guess I’m not as naive as I think I am. :)

It is also Groundhog’s Day today. As tradition would have it, if Mr. Groundhog sees his shadow, winter will last another six weeks. MEH. I live in a tropical country so cool weather is always welcome but I don’t think I’d be able to appreciate winter as much if it lasted as long as it would if Mr. Groundhog sees his shadow.

Leave a Reply

