REVIEW: Midnight Masquerade

MIDNIGHT MASQUERADE - Jude Deveraux

“After being abruptly jilted, Sophie Kincaid flees to the place her friend Kim Aldredge calls heaven on earth. But Sophie’s first taste of Edilean is far from heavenly: after her car breaks down on a country road, she is nearly run over by a speeding sports car. A small act of revenge brings come satisfaction, and word quickly spread that a gorgeous new comer gave the driver, the notoriously bitter Dr. Reede Aldredge, a dressing down! But it isn’t the first time the fiery artist has gone too far for a payback; a secret possession she carries with her could shatter her ex-boyfriend’s future. Reede Aldredge has secrets, too, including a desire to get closer to the beauty who is turning his dark world upside down. Under the night skies, their masquerade is magic–but will it turn to dust by the light of day?

*NOTE: Summary lifted from back cover of book.

Hey everyone! It’s me again. Here’s one of those reviews I promised you guys in my last post. :)

It’s been a while since I last read a novel by Jude Deveraux so I was looking forward to reading this when I got it last summer. It did not disappoint. I have to say though that I found the chemistry between the two leads a bit boring compared to the other couples from other Jude Deveraux novels I’ve read. Still, their chemistry and personality match was SPOT ON.

The story itself was fast-paced without feeling rushed. Although, I have to admit some parts were a bit cliche (okay, a LOT cliche). Then again, it IS a romance novel. The build-up to the climax took longer than I expected, which meant that I was reading like a maniac (finished the book in one day) to get to it. What made it worse (or better, I really can’t decide when it comes to these sort of things), was that you KNEW it was bound to happen, so you’re sitting at the edge of your seat flipping page after page until it finally happens and it…wasn’t quite what you expected? HAHA! You’ll have to read the book yourself to find out why. ;) Another factor that had me devouring finishing the book in one day was that since the climax took so long, the resolution didn’t take place until the last few pages of the book. I was freaking out inside when I saw the book only had about 20 pages or so left and the two leads haven’t made up yet. GAAH! Total torture. Still, everyone was happy at the end so I guess that’s okay (except for me, I want an epilogue DA***T).

BOOKWORM RATING (3/5): bookheartsbookheartsbookhearts

Leave a Reply

