Bookworm Round-Up 1

Hey everyone! My summer vacation is finally coming to an end (like, regular classes start next week) so I thought I would share with you the books that I enjoyed reading the most this summer before I take a hiatus. :)

THE DIRTY LIFE - Kristin Kimball

The Dirty Life – Kristin Kimball.

I normally wouldn’t go for this type of book but this one surprised me. It’s not that great if you nitpick at all the little details but the overall impression the book leaves with you is definitely worth reading the book to the end.

Recommended for: People seeking a change of pace from everyday life.

THE NIGHT CIRCUS - Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern.

There are very few books that I would love to read over and over again and this is one of them. For one thing, it has that sort of ability to pull you into the book’s world. Another is the genre itself as I’m a sucker for anything that combines mystery, fantasy, and romance.

Recommended for: People like me who are suckers for mysteries, fantasies, and romance (basically any girl who enjoyed Harry Potter).

GREAT-AUNT SOPHIA'S LESSONS FOR BOMBSHELLS - Lisa Cach
Great-Aunt Sophia’s Lessons for Bombshells – Lisa Cach.

To be perfectly honest, I wasn’t too keen with this book when I first started reading it. For one thing, the main character stood for something I ABSOLUTELY hate (at least, in the beginning). The overall message the story sends more than made up for it though. That, and the way it was actually written. It’s not very often a story manages to include everything I like in just the right amounts so that was definitely a huge plus. Also, I’m still not over the scheme Aunt Sophia pulled off. ;)

Recommended for: People who enjoy chick flicks? So girls? Yeah, any girl will definitely enjoy this. Or not.

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE - Robin Sloan
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore – Robin Sloan.

Well what can I say? I remember giving this book so much praise when I first reviewed it but I can’t seem to remember much about it. GAAH! It’s a really good book though (I swear!). Kind of Dan Brown-ish sans the conspiracy theories, if that makes sense. It also feels very light to read. You know, “magaan sa pakiramdam”? Hehe.

Recommended for: People who enjoy Dan Brown novels. It would also be good to read on a long haul flight I guess?

HOLLOW CITY - Ransom Riggs
Hollow City – Ransom Riggs.

Now this was something I’ve been wanting to read FOREVER. There’s nothing special about it except for the fact that it’s a direct sequel of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and I’m a sucker for a good series *ahem* Harry Potter *ahem*. It was good though. Very well though out. So kudos to the author for that. :)

Recommended for: People who have read the first book. DUH. For those who haven’t read both the first book and this one. You won’t be sorry.

ATTACHMENTS - Rainbow RowellAttachments – Rainbow Rowell.

Reading this one felt like listening to juicy dating gossip. HAHA! I like that it’s different from most love stories nowadays. It was very cute and very “kilig” but in a non-cheesy way, which I also liked. There isn’t really much of a story though. Just a (not so) typical boy meets girl story.

Recommended for: People (well, girls) who love chick flicks.

AAND that’s the end of it. I will see you guys on December. :*

Leave a Reply

