REVIEW: The Night Circus

THE NIGHT CIRCUS - Erin Morgenstern

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. It is called Le Cirque des Reves, and it is only open at night. Behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway – a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but a stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumblr headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.”

*NOTE: Summary lifted from back cover of the book.

It’s not very often that a story manages to wiggle its way into my heart. Of all the books I’ve read, only a handful are considered my absolute favorites. And this may very well be one of them. Granted, I knew I was going to like it the moment I saw it in the bookstore but I still had doubts. After all, it’s not the first time I bought a book thinking I would like it only to find boring.

To start off, the story was a perfect mix of mystery, drama, romance, and fantasy. You might find, however, that it is lacking in the romance department given that it is primarily a love story (at least, I think it was). BUT, the parts that were “romantic” more that made up for the distinct lack of romance. I swear, I got so kilig with every single one of them. Also, the way the love story progressed won’t make you feel that you’ve been cheated out of one at all. It was barely there and it sort of just happened all at once but MAN, the way it was written almost made it seem like they were actually flirting/courting the entire time. And of course, they got their happy ending. Well, as happy as it can get. I mean, (spoiler alert) they are already SORT OF dead.

Another thing I absolutely loved about this novel is its ability to suck you in. It’s so rare for a book to be able to do that. Of course, it helps that it’s a fantasy novel too. That, and the fact that it keeps you guessing until the very end, which I also liked very very much. It’s not very often that a book can keep me from finding out the ending BEFORE it actually happens.

All in all, the story was wrapped up pretty nicely. Everyone got their happy endings and the circus lives on. There were a few loose ends but hey, true love conquered all! And that’s all that matters. Hihi. :)

BOOKWORM RATING (4/5): bookheartsbookheartsbookheartsbookhearts

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Night Circus

Leave a Reply

