REVIEW: Where Things Come Back

“In the remarkable, bizarre, and heart-rending summer before Cullen Witter’s senior year of high school, everything he thinks he understands about his small and painfully dull Arkansas town vanishes. His cousin overdoses; his town becomes absurdly obsessed with the alleged reappearance of an extinct woodpecker; and most troubling of all, his sensitive, gifted fifteen-year-old brother, Gabriel, suddenly and inexplicably disappears.
As Cullen navigates a summer of finding and losing love, holding his fragile family together, and muddling his way into adulthood, a young disillusioned missionary in Africa searches for meaning wherever he can find it. And when those two stories collide, a surprising and harrowing climax emerges that is tinged with melancholy and regret, comedy and absurdity, and above all, hope.”

*NOTE: Summary lifted from back cover of the book.

I normally wouldn’t go for these kinds of books. I only happened to receive it for Christmas last year. And since I did not want to break my baby sister’s heart (she’s nine, btw) by not reading the book she got me, I decided to give it a shot. That and I had nothing else to read while waiting for a chance to go book shopping (more on that soon). 

Overall, I thought the book was okay. It wasn’t SO bad that I wasn’t able to finish it but it also wasn’t amazing (for me at least). I felt like there was no real plot to it, like everything was just one continuous stream of consciousness. It was very flat for me too and very…plain. It reminds me a lot of Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I did not enjoy too (granted, I only watched the movie). To be honest, I only watched because of Logan Lerman and Emma Watson. In any event, if you’re the type who enjoyed Perks, then you might enjoy this too. :)

I can see where the charm comes from though and I can’t really explain it but It’s just not for me.

BOOKWORM RATING (2/5): bookheartsbookhearts

Leave a Reply

